Simple English ~ Nicola Prentis

Thoughts on ELT, English and whatever else comes into my head

New Year 2014

Well, that 12 months of being fabulous passed so quickly I wonder how I managed to fit so many jaw-droppingly fantastic achievements in.

I didn’t just get shit done, I Got Shit Done!

No, not merely that.

I GOT SHIT DONE.

I milked the life cow of every last drop and harvested the grapes of opportunity, crushed them into the sweet pulp of  fulfillment and fermented it into a vintage year of success.

I was a determined seeker of public transport, often using multiple methods to get to other places. I continued to eat things, often fornicating with my lunch or smearing myself with truffle oil  and then posting the results of my gastrogasms on social media.

This coming year: flat pack furniture. It’s the next logical step in the staggering feat that is following instructions and assembling stuff.

But I don’t just do things to make myself look good. No! I tirelessly work for the advancement of the wider world. My Twitter campaign to end the enslavement of the word “internet” by the capitalist I (so beloved of ELT publishers) may have come to naught but I refuse to give up. There’s no I in internet, this affects us all.

iiage

I will probably follow this post with a more serious but, ultimately, no less gloating reflection on the year, pretending it’s for your information/edification.

Happy New Year’s Eve!

One comment on “New Year 2014

  1. Pingback: Old Year: Reflections, successes, fails and goals | Simple English ~ Nicola Prentis

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 31, 2013 by in Thoughts and tagged , , , , .
